top of page
Search
Writer's pictureRene Robinson

TOP INSTA PAGES TO FOLLOW

Updated: Jun 26, 2020

For a more worthwhile and positive feed.


I'd be lying if I said I wasn't on my phone most of the day. It's actually quite tragic, but its like my body takes over. My hand picks up my phone, and my finger doesn't search long for the little pink camera icon we know as Instagram. For the hundredth time that day, I find myself on Instagram. AGAIN. The thing is, I know that my feed won't be filled with quality content and I know I'll be refreshing and refreshing until I realize that that's it, but over and over the process repeats itself. So I figured, why don't I spend some time making my feed a worthwhile place to be.


I honestly believe this just comes down to preference, so pick and choose out of this list if you want.


Also, everyone always blames the media for our messed up views of the world, but with things like Instagram, you chose who you follow. So if you follow people who impact you negatively, it's all on you.

POSITIVITY

This is more of a movement, and it was started by the very talented actor, Jameela Jamil. She also has a podcast, and at the end of every podcast, she asks the actor she‘s interviewing what they weigh. And the answer is always a list of their proudest achievements instead of their weight. That should tell you enough already.


This page actually started as dieticians of Palm Valley, and are a group of dieticians who believe in intuitive eating and shame diet culture and the way it has warped our views on food. This page is so positive and powerful. I absolutely love it, and it has really impacted my relationship with food in the best way.


You know when you read something profound and it just hits you. You’ll definitely get that with this page. Sometimes you just need to hear something from an Instagram page and it just changes the way you think.


FOOD

@bareguide is a page filled with delicious food and was started by Leah Itsines. The content comes out of a place of balanced and realistic eating and is the perfect way to fill your feed with posts that will help create a positive relationship with food.




Is it just me who loves watching food vids on the internet? There is just something therapeutic about it. Foodies of SA post videos of recipes filled with South African ingredients that you'll find in any Woolies, Spar, Pick n Pay or Checkers. I find this really helpful because sometimes recipes from overseas use ingredients that are hard to find here.


COMEDY



Who doesn't want a feed full of things that make you laugh? This page is guaranteed to do so. I really have a special place in my heart for @betches. Betches is a US media company that has expanded an enormous amount. It is run and staffed by millennials and absolutely appeals to anyone in the age range from 18-30. They have very relatable content that will spice up your day and your feed.




This page just really puts me in a good mood. Live from snacktime is a page that posts funny things that kids say. It's so adorable and hilarious. In a strange way its also relatable, like 5-year-olds have the same problems you do.


NATURE AND ENVIRONMENTAL AWARENESS



There is something about the deep blue ocean that calms me. Ocean Ramsey is a magnificent woman that has a passion for free diving and sharks. She dives with the biggest and scariest sharks and makes them look gentle. I used to be terrified of sharks, but Ocean Ramsey has really changed my outlook on them. If you're looking for an escape from normal life, her page will definitely do that for you.




I really think it's important to be aware of your impact on the earth and to make constructive decisions regarding the impact you have. This page really tackles big issues and will encourage you to think in a more conservative way. If you want tips and knowledge about how you can make a better, more sustainable impact, give them a follow.


FASHION

Of course, this list is not complete without it.



If you're looking for fashion inspiration or really cool tips about it, this is definitely the page. I really have a soft spot for this page and I really enjoy her content.




Everyone needs a bit of culture in their life, Vogue will definitely give that to you. The latest fashion trends and the coolest pictures are posted on this page, but in a vintage type of way. And it's cheaper than buying the actual magazine.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page