top of page
Search
Writer's pictureRene Robinson

Hollywood: A Review

Updated: Jun 26, 2020



As I reached the 5th minute of the pilot episode of Hollywood, my brain had already mapped out what the storyline was going to be, and I was just not in the mood for another soppy story of fame and Hollywood. So I stopped watching right there. I am so glad to say that I was completely wrong.


Hollywood starts off with the typical protagonist, the good-looking white guy searching for fame. Otherwise known as Jack Costello. Of course, accompanied by the perfect supporting role, his pregnant wife. But the story quickly takes an interesting turn as the couple struggles to pay rent. Now, this is where things get interesting. Thankfully boredom hit, and I ended up watching what I thought was going to be an ordinary story.


Enter the hot old guy. He has the type of face that you can't pin down, but you definitely know him from somewhere. He, Ernie, offers Jack a job in the fine art of petrol pumping. As it turns out, the job requires more pumping than just petrol. In the next few episodes, a host of all-star characters are introduced and the story ends up belonging to them all, instead of a single lead. The rest of the show is set at Ace Studios, a production company in the heart of Hollywood.


I don't want to spoil this outstanding show for you, so I'll keep this review short. The show constantly surprised me and I enjoyed every second. It comments on so many important issues and topics that we should be addressing now.


This is a story that should be shared and watched across the world. Hollywood tells a story that many people have experienced in different ways, and shines a light on how warped our world has been at times. The end will, at the least, bring a smile to your face. This is a production that means something, it's more than just a show for entertainment, I guarantee that it will impact your way of thinking for the better.


Do yourself a favor and watch Hollywood, you won't regret it.


A look at who plays who:


Jeremy Pope as Archie Coleman and Darren Criss as Raymond Ainsley, respectively.


Laura Harrier as Camille Washington


Patti LuPone as Avis Amberg


David Corenswet as Jack Costello


Jake Picking as Rock Hudson (Right)


Samara Weaving as Claire Wood


Jim Parsons as Henry Willson

AND SO MANY OTHERS!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page